top of page
  • Writer's picture@CarrickCC1868

CCC Awards Dinner 2001

Our Annual Club Dinner and Presentation of Awards was held on Friday, 9th. November and was, as ever, well-supported with more than sixty members in attendance. This year we were fortunate to be joined by one of Carrickfergus Cricket Club's most distinguished and well-respected former members as our guest speaker: International Umpire, Paddy O'Hara. Paddy entertained us with a sparkling and humorous speech which included many anecdotes of his own playing days at Carrickfergus. Some of the stories went back far enough that even our own Beggsy was struggling! Mr. O'Hara is obviously a man whose experience belies his youthful appearance... (we'll be looking for a few favourable decisions for that one next season, eh lads?). Joining Paddy and his wife as guests of our President, we were also honoured by the company of the ever-affable Northern Cricket Union Vice-President Harold McCrory, his Laurelvale colleague Adrian Campbell, and their wives, the President of the Northern Ireland Umpires' and Scorers' Association, Arthur Thompson, and his wife and the Town Mayor and Lady Mayoress, Billy Ashe and his wife. The dinner itself was, as per usual, of the very highest quality and we would take this opportunity to compliment our fantastic and ever-popular club-caterer, Fiona, for her efforts on the night.


The Prize Winners from the 2001 Season were as follows...

Cricketer of the Year: Barry Cooper

Young Cricketer of the Year: Iain Parkhill

Best Individual Match-Winning Performance: Greg Weir

1st XI Batsman: Barry Cooper

1st XI Bowler: Michael McIlroy

Junior Batsman: Alex Adams

Junior Bowler: Gordon Creighton

3rd XI Player of the Year: Colin Brown

5th XI Player of the Year: Desy Allen

U15 Batsman: Philip Ritchie

U15 Bowler: Anthony Martin

U13 Batsman: Mark McCrea

U13 Bowler: Andrew Wilson

72 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page