top of page
  • Writer's picture@CarrickCC1868

T20 Finals Day Report

The re-arranged Twenty20 finals day on 22nd July at The Green saw Carrickfergus Eagles participate in a semi-final worthy of a final. Drawn against probable favourites, the Waringstown Villagers, the Eagles posted 128, with knocks of 35 from Nazir Khan and 55 from Shane "Harbs" Singe. In reply, the Villagers began chasing down the target but, after the dismissal of top scorer Kyle Mccallan with the score on 77, they began to lose wickets regularly. Still, they put themselves in a decent position for victory coming into the last over, needing a run-a-ball with 2 wickets in hand. Sensationally, a run out in the final over saw them requiring three runs for victory off the final ball. Scoring just two, however, amazingly left the match tied. Several visits to the rulebooks later(!) and the Eagles were declared victors by virtue of having lost just one fewer wicket. Having won the other semi in reasonably comfortbale fashion, North Down were to be the Eagle's opponents in the final. A mediocre batting performance from the Eagles saw them post a total of 108 with only skipper, Ryan Eagleson, making a significant cotribution with 24. North Down made fairly short work of the chase and surpassed the Carrickfergus total with 4 overs to spare, Davy Kennedy top-scoring with 41 to take the inaugural Twenty20 title.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page