top of page

U11's win Plate Final

Carrickfergus won the Under 11 Plate final carried over from the 2008 season, when they beat Laurelvale by 7 wickets at Shaw's Bridge on Monday. Laurelvale batted first and scored 82 for 9 in their 20 overs, with opener Jamie Curran top scoring with 23. Ben Kane, Andrew Palmer and Simon Scott each took two wickets for Carrick. Carrick's openers Matthew Campbell and Andrew Forbes got them off to a flying start with 20 runs coming off the first two overs, and although they lost three wickets on the way, after this the result was never really in doubt. The Carrick batsmen continued to bat positively and passed the Laurelvale total in just the 14th over with Ben Kane unbeaten on 25, and Simon Scott 19 not out. Carrick captain Andrew Palmer received the trophy and both teams received medals from NCU President Ian Gourley after the match. Both Clubs are very grateful to tournament organiser and sponsor Norman Shannon of Norman Shannon & Co Solicitors for an excellent evening which finished with a very enjoyable supper in the Shaw's Bridge clubhouse.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page