top of page
  • Writer's picture@CarrickCC1868

Carrickfergus CC triumph in National Cup

Indrajeet Kamtekar and Ryan Eagleson spun Carrickfergus to an emphatic 120 run victory over Killyclooney in the final of the RSA National Cup at Downpatrick.

The Indian all-rounder took 5 for 26 as Killyclooney were dismissed for 107 chasing a Carrick total of 227 for 8. Man of the Match Kamtekar bowled in tandem with former Irish international Ryan Eagleson, who took 3 for 14, including a stunning caught and bowled to dismiss Killyclooney skipper Mark Gordon, whose 14 included two huge sixes.

Alan Colhoun made a breezy 44 (5 fours, 1 six) for the North West side, sharing a stand of 44 for the 3rd wicket with Craig Campbell (14), after Anthony Martin and Richard Hood had taken two early wickets.

Earlier, the Carrickfergus top six all got starts in an impressive batting display, with Jamie Holmes top scoring with 49, sharing a second wicket stand of 84 with skipper Iain Parkhill (37). Alex Haggan (35no), Eagleson (32), Michael Gilmour (29) and Kamtekar (26) all batted well ensuring Killyclooney were never really able to stem the steady flow of runs.

Carrick are the second NCU side to win the prestigious trophy, following Muckamore's success in the inaugural competition in 2012, making this a remarkable personal double for Kamy. Carrick now have a chance to add another trophy to their collection when they face Downpatrick in the final of the Ulster Shield at Middle Road on Sunday, starting at 12.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page